mgkrot.blogg.se

Luther vandross songs put him away
Luther vandross songs put him away







luther vandross songs put him away

Quite naturally, being neighbors, we would run into each other a lot. A year later, it would become a trio and after we discovered we lived in adjoining buildings, one of my fondest memories was seeing the group open for Marvin Gaye at Radio City Music Hall. We were there in publicist Simo Doe’s office at Atlantic Records in the 75 Rockefeller Plaza building, me, Luther, Anthony, Diane, Christine and Theresa – for at the time, the group Luther was a quintet. publication! Not that he hadn’t had any dealings with us Brits: a few years earlier, he had worked with David Bowie and no doubt that association that opened quite a few doors for him. It was for Britain’s “Blues & Soul” magazine and Luther was just enthralled that he was actually being interviewed for a U.K. That was the year we did our very first interview. Someone of my generation, someone with whom I must have spoken dozens of times ever since we discovered we were neighbors on W. But nonetheless, it’s just tough realizing that someone who was a part of my life for almost 30 years is gone. I dealt with that when I first learned that Luther had a stroke in April 2003 just weeks after we spoke for the last time when I was writing his bio for the “Dance To My Father” album. I can’t say that I was completely surprised or shocked. (An edited version of a feature that was originally published on a previous iteration of in 2005).

luther vandross songs put him away

On July 1, the 15th anniversary of the passing of the legendary LUTHER VANDROSS, founder David Nathan shares his personal reflections and reminiscences of the iconic singer/songwriter and producer who he first met in 1976….









Luther vandross songs put him away